The idea for a memorial scholarship originated in response to the tragic death of one classmate, Ed Gannaway, who saved many lives but lost his own, heroically piloting a malfunctioning commuter plane to the ground in 1995. As interest grew, so did the desire to have it memorialize all departed members of the Class of 1968. To view the classmates that have been honored at Class Day each year, please visit our Deceased Classmates Page above.

To Donate, Please Click the Foundation Logo Below:

Click the WSF logo to make a donation.

** If you prefer to make a donation by mail, please send your check payable to:

The Winston-Salem Foundation
751 West Fourth Street, Suite 200
Winston-Salem, NC 27101-2702

Please be sure to reference “RJR Class of 1968 Memorial Scholarship Fund”.

Your gift to the scholarship fund is tax-deductible and you will receive a letter from the WSF acknowledging same for your tax records. You may also make your gift in honor or memory of a friend or loved one. Just supply the WSF with the name and address of the person you wish to be notified and the Foundation will send them an acknowledgment of your kindness without mentioning the amount of your gift.

Current Donors and Pledgers to the 2015-2018 Capital Campaign:

Jo Abbott Taylor
Mary Adams Cheek Nicholson & James Nicholson
Bob Alspaugh
Ellen Alsup Worth
Candace Apple
Bob Backer
Patsy Bagnal
Molly Barber Griffin
Richard Beck
Fred Bell
Melody Bennick
Miriam Bonds
Marianne Bouvier
Ben Brantley – Non-Classmate
Cliff Brown – Class of ’62
David Brown
Robert Brown
David Caffey
Susan Carroll Sides
Wayne Carr
George Clay
Marcia Cole – Non-Classmate
Commonwealth Cares Fund – Non-Classmate
Harry Corpening
Carolyn Coughenour Taylor
Sonya Cowen Newton
Gail Craddock
Wanda Crouch Griffin
Carter Crump
Mark Crumpler
Craig Dalton
Bo Davis
Gwyneth Duncan
Jan Duncan Whiteheart
Tim Ebert
Samuel Fisher
Ruth Flanders Patton
Charles Fogleman
Debbie Fox – Non-Classmate
Woody Fox
Jan Fox-Cain – Non-Classmate
Bob Friend III
David Fuller
Penelope Gallin
Nancy Gheesling Streblow
Jessica Gibson – Non-Classmate
Eric Giles
Lorraine Gillikin Chapman
Julia Ann Gold
Ann Googe Nusbaum
Ralph & Suzanne Gordon
Kristie Graham – Class of ’69
Janet Grassia
Thomas Gunn
Daphne Hall
Pam Hall Pogue & Thomas Pogue
Karen Hancock Blackwelder & Gene Blackwelder
John Thiele Harter
Rick Hauser
Peter Hawley
Kay Henderson Collare
Richard Hibbits – Class of ’67
Ann Hinshaw Shearon
Alix C. Hitchcock
Tim Hitchcock
Jay Hobson
Margretta Houston
Deborah Hylton Slingluff
Charles Jenkins
Sandra Johnson Chitty
Maripaul Johnson Cosper
Rebecca Johnston
Richard Joyce, Jr.
Curtis H. Judge III
Paul Knouse, Jr.
Harry Lancaster
Mark & Jan Laney – Non-Classmate
Deborah Lawrence Perry
Jim Lawson
Michael Leaf
Mary Leith Sage
Molly Levin Beck
John & Annette Lynch – Non-Classmate
Ted Macklin
Christina Mandakis Harris
Will Mann
Ed Manns – Non-Classmate
James Martin
Bobby Masten
Scott Maxwell
Robert McDougle
Kate McTyre Scheuer
Paula Michael Shteamer
Gary Michalove
Lowell Michalove
Karlynn Morgan
Douglas Morton
Marcia Mueller Priddy
Sara (Joy) Munden
Jan Nicholson Assimos
Bill Nifong
Marianne Nifong Raker
Sami Ousley Bills
Roger Perkins
Kathy Strickland Peterson & Greg Peterson
Katherine Weathers Petree & Bill Petree
Mici Petty Gold
Dale Price Crim
Robert Prout
Queen City Optimist Club – Non-Classmate
Nelson Richardson
David Robinson
Colonel Hugh & Mrs. Cathy Robinson
Paul Rodgman
Mike Rominger & Kitty Starbuck
Don Rouzie
Chris Sawyer
Richard Schwartz
Janet Silverman Roseman & Russ Roseman
Ike Slaughter
Elizabeth Sloan
Judy Smith
Susan Speaks Parrish
Thomas Stevenson
Jody Stonestreet McLean
Jeff Teeter
Judy Tesh Warden
The Winston-Salem Foundation – Non-Classmate
Dean Thompson
Mary Ann Todd
Beverly Totherow Seay
Lenora Topp
Alan Toy
Thomas Transou
Dan Tulman
Carol Vealey Miller
Vera Vrsecky Fulton
John Weiler
Merlyn Weygandt Bost
Eddie White
Tracey Williams – Non-Classmate
Jim Witherington
Linda Wright Merchant
Bill Yearns
RJR Class of 1960 c/o Jacqueline B. Smith
+ 2 Anonymous Pledgers