About Us



The idea for a memorial scholarship originated with members of the class in response to the tragic death of one classmate, Ed Gannaway, who saved many lives but lost his own, heroically piloting a malfunctioning commuter airplane to the ground in August 1995. As interest in the proposed scholarship grew, so did the desire to have it memorialize all departed members of the Class of 1968, in recognition of the contributions they made to our collective life while at Reynolds, and to their respective communities in subsequent years.

Ed Gannaway, Class of ’68

The class voted overwhelmingly to establish the scholarship versus other ideas presented. Thus, in 1997, the R.J. Reynolds High School Class of 1968 Memorial Scholarship was launched. It is funded almost entirely by classmate donations to the endowment, which is managed by the Winston-Salem Foundation. Our scholarship recipient is chosen annually by a committee of classmates. A member of the class presents the award at RJR’s annual Class Day, and also memorializes any deceased classmates from the prior year at that same event.

Apply Now

If you are a student interested in applying for the RJRHS Class of 1968 Memorial Scholarship, please click the link below and complete the form.

Student Application


The Class of 1968 currently awards one scholarship each year to a graduating RJR High School senior who will pursue a bachelor’s degree at an accredited college or university. The scholarship is a consecutive, four-year renewable award. Currently, the scholarship provides $25,000 ($6,250 per year), disbursed to the recipient in equal payments over eight semesters.


The applicant must be an RJR senior, in good standing with the school, with a minimum, unweighted GPA of 3.5. All applicants are evaluated on three equally-weighted criteria: academic achievement, community service (within the school and in the community at large), and financial need.

Selection Committee Chairs and Members


Molly Piner Brown1998 – 2004
Karen Hancock Blackwelder2004 – 2006
Nancy Gheesling Streblow2007 – 2008
Charles Jenkins2008 – 2011
Marcia Mueller Priddy2012 – 2014
Ted Macklin2014 – 2017
Karlynn Morgan2018 – 2021
Susan Speak Parrish2022 –

Mary Armstrong Lowe

Mary Adams Nicholson

Molly Barber Griffin

Delphine Baskins Kearney

Woody Fox

Billy D. Friende, Jr.

David Fuller

Penny Gallins

Nancy Gheesling Streblow

Eric Giles

Ann Googe Nusbaum

Karen Hancock Blackwelder

Bill Hunt

Charles Jenkins

Terry Key

Jim Lawson

Molly Levin Beck

Larry Little

Ted Macklin

Jim Martin

Karlynn Morgan

Marcia Mueller Priddy

Bill Nifong

Jan Nicholson Assimos

Sami Ousley Bills

Molly Piner Brown

Chris Sawyer

Janet Silverman Roseman

Bill Spaulding

Susan Speaks Parrish

Mike Swain

Alan Toy

Tom Transou

John Weiler

Jim Witherington