Scholarship Co-Chair Changes

In March 2014, Peter Hawley retired as Co-Chair of the RJRHS Class of 1968 Memorial Scholarship Program after 16 years of service. Woody and Peter selected Marcia Mueller Priddy to join Woody as Co-Chair. In June of 2018, Marcia felt the need to rotate off due to work constraints and John Weiler assumed her position.

After 20 years as Co-Chair of the RJRHS Class of 1968 Memorial Scholarship Fund, Woody Fox announced his retirement on December 11, 2018. Succeeding Woody are John Weiler, Managing Co-Chair, and Dave Fuller, Co-Chair.

2021 Scholarship Recipient

  • We are excited to announce that the 2021 recipient of the $25,000.00 Memorial Scholarship is Elizabeth Marshall. She will attend Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. When asked “What are your plans after college Elizabeth?” Her response was, “My plans are to study Spanish and study the world of business, problem solving, and engineering.” When not in class, Elizabeth teaches horseback riding and is fluent in Spanish. Read more about her on the Recipients page.

2022 Scholarship

  • The fantastic and very generous giving by the Class of 1968 and Friends and the well managed fund investments by the Winston-Salem Foundation, has grown the endowment to exceed $775,000.00. Thus our 4-year scholarship award can be maintained at $25,000. Our incredible thanks to every donor and the committee.

Scholarship Committee News

  • 2022 Selection Committee Members: Susan Speaks Parrish, Chairperson; Tom Transou, Mary Adams Nicholson, Bill Spaulding, Ann Googe Nusbaum, and Chris Sawyer.